Quality Standards

We have systems and processes in place to meet the Aged Care Quality Standards. There are 8 standards as listed below:

  • Consumer dignity and choice

  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers

  • Personal care and clinical care

  • Services and supports for daily living

  • Organisation’s service environment

  • Feedback and complaints

  • Human resources

  • Organisational governance.

The standards are consumer focussed, with each standard focussing on an aspect of care that contributes to consumer safety, health and wellbeing. Please refer to the attachments for a copy of the Aged Care Quality Standards Factsheet.

We use a self-assessment tool to regularly assess our performance against the aged care quality standards to identify any changes required to our systems and processes. We will involve staff, volunteers and consumers and their families when making changes.

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (Commission) is responsible for accrediting and monitoring the quality of care and services of residential aged care homes.

Assessment contact visits are usually conducted without notice, as are re- accreditation site audits. Letters and posters will be displayed to inform consumers and their families of the Commission Assessor visits. Consumers and representatives can speak to the Assessors whilst they are on site, or they can contact the Commission to provide feedback on, Tollfree: 1800 951 822 The Accreditation period is 3 years with at least one unannounced Assessment Contact a year to monitor ongoing compliance to the standards.

During onsite visits the Assessors use a triangulation of evidence to verify compliance to the Standards. This means that they review documentation, make observations and talk to staff and consumers and representatives.